After a night out where you had a few drinks, you may think you can drive yourself home. However, if you get caught operating a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) over 0.08%, you could face charges for driving while intoxicated (DWI). This is sometimes called driving under the influence (DUI).
When you work with Missouri Traffic Tickets, our attorneys will defend you against DWI/DUI charges. We have represented hundreds of clients faced with consequences of DWI, and our firm will do everything we can to prevent the DWI from impacting your future.
What Penalties Come with Driving While Intoxicated?
Every DWI is different. The severity consequences for a DWI is based on BAC, whether there was an accident, how bad the driving was and of course whether you have any priors.
A class B misdemeanor, your first offense can mean up to six months in jail with or without a $500 fine. You can also receive up to two years of probation, a 30-day license suspension, and a 60-day restricted hardship license. Your first DWI offense requires you to attend a Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program (SATOP). Also, the judge can mandate that you use an ignition interlock device in your vehicle to prevent further offenses.
Second offense DWI
A second offense carries many of the same penalties as a first offense. However, it is classified as a class A misdemeanor if it happens within five years of the first. The government may assign you a fine up to $1,000, and you face a minimum of ten days in jail or 240 hours of community service. You also receive a longer license suspension of either 90 days, 1 year or 5 years, depending on your past DWI.
Third offense DWI
With your third offense, your DWI is classified as a class E felony. You may receive up to four years in jail, a $5,000 fine, and no less than 30 days in jail or significant amount of community service. Your license can be revoked for up to ten years.
Fourth offense DWI
A fourth offense is a class D felony, and you become an aggravated offender. At this point, you could receive a sentence of up to 7 years in prison and up to $5,000 in fines. Missouri DWI law requires that you spend 60 days in jail before being eligible for probation. A fourth offense DWI may result in lifetime loss of license.
Fifth offense DWI
If you have five incidents, you become a chronic offender and a class C felony. Your fifth offense carries a sentence up to 10 years in prison. Before being eligible for probation an individual is required to serve a minimum of two in the Missouri Department of Corrections.
Can You Win a DWI/DUI Case?
While many attorneys and law enforcement officials will tell you that you cannot win a DWI case, our experience says otherwise. We have handled numerous DWI cases and won or reduced our clients’ sentences.
We offer our legal expertise regarding:
As always, you can represent yourself in a Missouri DWI case, but you lower your chances of winning if you do not hire an attorney. We know Missouri laws surrounding driving while intoxicated. We can help you keep your license, avoid points, avoid shock time in the jail, and reduce your fines.
How Can Missouri Traffic Tickets Help You?
At Missouri Traffic Tickets, we dedicate ourselves to diligently working any DWI case our office takes. Our team has over 20 years of DWI and DUI experience, and we have the expertise you need to win your case.